What I’m working on in November

Nursing a Halloween hangover here, lovelies, and trying to put off doing actual writing or editing by taking care of, well, everything else I possibly can. Here’s a thing you should know about me: I’m an obsessive list-maker. I make lists for everything. And not just your average grocery lists or gift lists or to-do lists. Not me. When I get a bug of an idea stuck in my head I get it out by making lists. Like, “ice cream flavors I want to make.” (Hint: the next up is buttermilk ice cream). Or, “songs featuring bisexual narrators.” 

I don’t exactly refer back to these lists, but if I don’t make them the ideas just keep piling up. Like this list here, I needed to write this so I’d stop circling my writing projects like a dizzy buzzard.

  • First off, I’m working through my Big Edit of the upcoming novel. I’d love to get this monster out before Christmas but a real dirty, gritty edit takes time. You can rush the writing, you can rush the reading, but you’d better make your edits count. A sloppy edit just means  . . . another big edit when you’re done. 
  • Have I told you about the novel? It’s an urban fantasy, paranormal romance adventure with a dominatrix as the hero. She gets bit by a werewolf and claimed by a succubus on the same day. Her life gets turned upside down, sexy upside down. It’s a planned trilogy, or maybe more. My idea list for the series is out of control.
  • Alison Tyler is one of the greatest living erotica writers–we all agree on that right? Good. I submitted a story for her next BDSM anthology and plan to publish it on Amazon at some point as well. Currently I’m trying to whip some cover designs into shape.
  • The darlings over at Martian Migraine press possess an enthusiasm that it just infectious. I adore their whole vibe and am writing up a story to submit to their newest erotic horror anthology. (Submissions are open, by the way.) Lovecraft has never appealed to me as a writer–he has some great ideas and his mythos is charmingly alien–so I’ve been reading up on him and Ramsey Campbell, to get my head around this whole Shub-Niggurath thing. I adore a challenge and an excuse to stretch myself into new literary areas, so this’ll be fun. I have 1,000 words down on the story and will post an excerpt here when I have something cleaned up for you.
  • The biggest item on this list though is to get some groundwork laid for the second novel. It’s going to involve vampires, hot m/m/f scenes, and lots of wonderful weirdness.

Pop in by the comments and let me know what you’re working on right now, or what you’re ready, what you’re eating, etc, etc, etc.

Leave a Reply

